today is the last day for my little ones to be in Mother's Day out until the middle of June, so I am happily dropped them off. I have much to get done today, and it is nice to just be able to run errands and get some stuff done without having to strap kids in and out of car seats, or have them at home undoing everything that I put away. That's the idea, anyway.
I am so easily distracted. I wonder if I have a bit of adult ADD. So, here is my "productive" day so far... I went to Wal-Mart to pick up some pictures I had ordered for my mother-in-law. While there, I find a good deal on some storage bins for the kids winter clothes, so I get them (with no intention of actually putting the kids clothes in them today, but they are a good deal, and it will be good to have them whenever I get in the mood to clean drawers, right??), and then wander aimlessly around wal-mart for a bit. (I don't blame myself for this waste of time though... it is wal-mart's fault. Who can really go in there for one thing and then leave??)
Then it's off to Goodwill to drop Joe's old clothes off. Since I am there, though, I feel like I need to go check out the book section. I love reading, so this is fun to do. But look, there is a whole section of kid clothes that all still have tags on them, and I can't help but browse those to see if there is anything that might be good play clothes for the kids. So, 1 hour, 5 movies, 2 books, a tank top, and a brand new gymnastics outfit for Aiyana later, I head out from my quick trip to Goodwill.
I head home, denying myself the incredible urge to stop by Old Navy to find an outfit for a fancy shin dig Joe and I are going to for our anniversary.
At home, I plan on cleaning my bathrooms, getting some laundry done, and getting the house ready for company. I check my e-mail, chat with mom on the computer a bit, make some quesadillas for lunch, get a drink and start cleaning my bathroom.
Unfortunately, I saw the corn that I want to make for supper, so I quickly take the skin off it and get it in foil so I don't have to do it at supper time. Then, I put a load of laundry in and clean my bathroom. In the middle of cleaning my bathroom, I decide to make some macaroni salad for supper too, so I get that boiling.
I finish my bathroom, and start on my bedroom. I decide to empty the bags of school clothes that I have in my closet into the containers I bought today, even though I am not going to have time to finish the job, and they will drive me nuts for a week. Next thing I find is an sandwich bag (my detailed filing system) with my passport and Aiyana's birth certificate in it. I realize that it would be great if all the passports and birth certificates are in this same bag so that if we all end up going to Mexico this summer I will have everything ready. So I start rummaging through my filing "system" which includes folders randomly labeled "family stuff" "important documents" "pictures" and "other stuff" among other things. I find all of our papers (AMAZINGLY!!) and get them all in a baggie and I am feeling pretty darn good about myself.
However, it is now just about time to get the kids, and I haven't cleaned anything but my bathroom, put our passports together, made some macaroni salad and peeled corn. I have been SO BUSY though.... It's a good thing I had time to update my blog. It wasn't on my "to-do" list, but neither were a lot of other things.... lol
So, anyone... does this sound like adult ADD????
Wednesday, May 28, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comment:
That is halarious!! Every mom should have a good "you day" with every intention of being productive. It makes the day that much sweeter - when you kind of rebel against yourself : )
Post a Comment