today is the last day for my little ones to be in Mother's Day out until the middle of June, so I am happily dropped them off. I have much to get done today, and it is nice to just be able to run errands and get some stuff done without having to strap kids in and out of car seats, or have them at home undoing everything that I put away. That's the idea, anyway.
I am so easily distracted. I wonder if I have a bit of adult ADD. So, here is my "productive" day so far... I went to Wal-Mart to pick up some pictures I had ordered for my mother-in-law. While there, I find a good deal on some storage bins for the kids winter clothes, so I get them (with no intention of actually putting the kids clothes in them today, but they are a good deal, and it will be good to have them whenever I get in the mood to clean drawers, right??), and then wander aimlessly around wal-mart for a bit. (I don't blame myself for this waste of time though... it is wal-mart's fault. Who can really go in there for one thing and then leave??)
Then it's off to Goodwill to drop Joe's old clothes off. Since I am there, though, I feel like I need to go check out the book section. I love reading, so this is fun to do. But look, there is a whole section of kid clothes that all still have tags on them, and I can't help but browse those to see if there is anything that might be good play clothes for the kids. So, 1 hour, 5 movies, 2 books, a tank top, and a brand new gymnastics outfit for Aiyana later, I head out from my quick trip to Goodwill.
I head home, denying myself the incredible urge to stop by Old Navy to find an outfit for a fancy shin dig Joe and I are going to for our anniversary.
At home, I plan on cleaning my bathrooms, getting some laundry done, and getting the house ready for company. I check my e-mail, chat with mom on the computer a bit, make some quesadillas for lunch, get a drink and start cleaning my bathroom.
Unfortunately, I saw the corn that I want to make for supper, so I quickly take the skin off it and get it in foil so I don't have to do it at supper time. Then, I put a load of laundry in and clean my bathroom. In the middle of cleaning my bathroom, I decide to make some macaroni salad for supper too, so I get that boiling.
I finish my bathroom, and start on my bedroom. I decide to empty the bags of school clothes that I have in my closet into the containers I bought today, even though I am not going to have time to finish the job, and they will drive me nuts for a week. Next thing I find is an sandwich bag (my detailed filing system) with my passport and Aiyana's birth certificate in it. I realize that it would be great if all the passports and birth certificates are in this same bag so that if we all end up going to Mexico this summer I will have everything ready. So I start rummaging through my filing "system" which includes folders randomly labeled "family stuff" "important documents" "pictures" and "other stuff" among other things. I find all of our papers (AMAZINGLY!!) and get them all in a baggie and I am feeling pretty darn good about myself.
However, it is now just about time to get the kids, and I haven't cleaned anything but my bathroom, put our passports together, made some macaroni salad and peeled corn. I have been SO BUSY though.... It's a good thing I had time to update my blog. It wasn't on my "to-do" list, but neither were a lot of other things.... lol
So, anyone... does this sound like adult ADD????
Wednesday, May 28, 2008
Tuesday, May 27, 2008
Diapers.... a thing of the past!!
Well, finally I can happily report that I no longer have to buy diapers!! I am so excited! Abby has been in undies for the past while, but was still having some problems, but for one week now she has been totally accident free!! Yippie!!!! I am thrilled. I have been changing diapers now for almost 5 years, and I am glad to put all that behind me! It does, however, mean that my kids are growing up and getting so big. Time is flying by! They are all going to be graduating before I know it... At least for now they are all still more than happy to cuddle up in bed and talk and giggle. I love those times!
Wednesday, May 21, 2008
Diabetes...
Joe got me a movie for mother's day. Actually, he got me a whole cute basket with a movie, some good wine, popcorn, and chocolate covered almonds. (So sweet of him) The movie was called "P.S. I love you" The plot, briefly, is about a man who dies and leaves a bunch of letters to his wife to help her move on with life.
Nice movie idea. Not a nice movie for me to watch. I struggle (a lot more than I would like) with the fear that Joe is not going to be around for me and the kids for a long time. I think I (for the most part) have viewed his diabetes diagnosis in an entirely clinical manner. I ask him about his insulin, check his glucometer to see how his blood sugars have been, and question the foods he is eating. I try not to focus on the long term with his diabetes. Maybe that's my coping skill, I don't know, but watching that movie brought up a lot of the worries that I have about Joe.
I have taken care of many diabetics in my time as a nurse, many of them were type 1 diabetics (juvenile onset, insulin dependent) like Joe. I spend much of my care time teaching them about the need for close monitoring, monitoring their diet, and a lot of time telling them about their statistical odds of certain complications if their blood sugars were not in control. These odds are things I don't even want to think about with Joe. I need him to be around for many more years, and not just be here, but be healthy and playing with the kids, and grand kids, and taking me touring around Europe and cruising... I mean, we will only be 43 when Abby graduates high school, and we have a lot of living to do.
Anyway, I ended up crying on my way home from work this weekend. I don't know why that movie impacted me so much, but it did, and now I must give it all back to God. I have to remind myself that He knows every hair on our heads, and He knows the plans He has for us.... I know this, but diabetes is an ugly ugly disease and I just wish it never came near my family.
Nice movie idea. Not a nice movie for me to watch. I struggle (a lot more than I would like) with the fear that Joe is not going to be around for me and the kids for a long time. I think I (for the most part) have viewed his diabetes diagnosis in an entirely clinical manner. I ask him about his insulin, check his glucometer to see how his blood sugars have been, and question the foods he is eating. I try not to focus on the long term with his diabetes. Maybe that's my coping skill, I don't know, but watching that movie brought up a lot of the worries that I have about Joe.
I have taken care of many diabetics in my time as a nurse, many of them were type 1 diabetics (juvenile onset, insulin dependent) like Joe. I spend much of my care time teaching them about the need for close monitoring, monitoring their diet, and a lot of time telling them about their statistical odds of certain complications if their blood sugars were not in control. These odds are things I don't even want to think about with Joe. I need him to be around for many more years, and not just be here, but be healthy and playing with the kids, and grand kids, and taking me touring around Europe and cruising... I mean, we will only be 43 when Abby graduates high school, and we have a lot of living to do.
Anyway, I ended up crying on my way home from work this weekend. I don't know why that movie impacted me so much, but it did, and now I must give it all back to God. I have to remind myself that He knows every hair on our heads, and He knows the plans He has for us.... I know this, but diabetes is an ugly ugly disease and I just wish it never came near my family.
Where did May go?
I am looking on here and it has been a month since I posted last!! What happened to last month? Actually, what has happened to this year already? I really had all intentions of being a great blogger and updating the world about my amazing kids at least every other day, but alas... here it has been a month and no smart sayings or cute quips are to be had. So sorry...
As some of you know, this is my idea for a type of scrap book for my kids. One day I will print these things and make a book of sorts with them. I know, how boring, but I am very artistically challenged. I look at my sister's scrapbooks with totally unabashed envy. I have even, on occasion, attempted to start some sort of book for my kids, and ended up quitting after a page or so; once I realized that my children would mistake it for some of their elementary school work, and not a lovely book designed with love by their mother.
I am so embarrassed to admit that I don't even have baby books for my younger two. I will have to make them one day. I completely plan on making up every date of their teeth, and when they crawled, etc. I actually am pretty upset at myself for not keeping up with that more, but I was just quite overwhelmed with the two of them in the beginning that baby books were not on my mind as much as finding a sitter and keeping up with work and my house and then moving across the country when they were 5 months and 19 months.
So, anyway, this isn't "True confessions of a bad Mom." Sometimes I just can get sad that time is going by so fast, and I am sure that I will not remember all the cute things that they do. Here is my plan: I am going to pull out the video camera a bit more, blog a bit more, and try to stop and smell the roses a bit more.
As some of you know, this is my idea for a type of scrap book for my kids. One day I will print these things and make a book of sorts with them. I know, how boring, but I am very artistically challenged. I look at my sister's scrapbooks with totally unabashed envy. I have even, on occasion, attempted to start some sort of book for my kids, and ended up quitting after a page or so; once I realized that my children would mistake it for some of their elementary school work, and not a lovely book designed with love by their mother.
I am so embarrassed to admit that I don't even have baby books for my younger two. I will have to make them one day. I completely plan on making up every date of their teeth, and when they crawled, etc. I actually am pretty upset at myself for not keeping up with that more, but I was just quite overwhelmed with the two of them in the beginning that baby books were not on my mind as much as finding a sitter and keeping up with work and my house and then moving across the country when they were 5 months and 19 months.
So, anyway, this isn't "True confessions of a bad Mom." Sometimes I just can get sad that time is going by so fast, and I am sure that I will not remember all the cute things that they do. Here is my plan: I am going to pull out the video camera a bit more, blog a bit more, and try to stop and smell the roses a bit more.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)